facebookyoutube  @ CFUWKW


Awards and Scholarships

Scholarships| Donate

“I would just like to thank the CFUW K-W for awarding me the Elliot T. Grasett scholarship this year (2013). The generous contribution of $800 will be funding my final year of undergraduate studies at the University of Waterloo.
Again, thank you for your patronage. It means more than you know.”

4th-year History student
University of Waterloo
Recipient of the 2013 Elliot T. Grasett Scholarship Award

The Canadian Federation of University Women, Kitchener-Waterloo Charitable Fund (CFUW K-W Charitable Fund) was founded in 1985 to provide a means for CFUW members and the public to recognize and encourage educational excellence.

The Charitable Fund is a charitable organization that consists of a number of memorial/honorary endowment funds which provide scholarships and awards at the secondary and post-secondary educational level in the Kitchener-Waterloo area and nationally. 

Recipients of all of the below awards and scholarships are chosen by officials at the educational institutions that they attend. 




The slideshow below highlights Waterloo Public Library display about our annual book sale.The banner announces the dates of the 2015 sale and our theme.

For criteria and information about the other awards and scholarships, please contact the relevant educational institutions or CFUW K-W Charitable Fund.

The funds that finance these awards depend upon the generosity of members and the public at large through individual donations and from such fundraisers as the annual Used Book Sale held in the Spring each year since 1963. If you would like more information on how you can support educational excellence by making a donation, memorial or otherwise (charitable tax receipts are available) or by planning a bequest please contact Pat Cuningham, CFUW K-W Charitable Fund Managing Trustee.






Bernice MacCallum Hilliard

  • mature, female, undergraduate, full-time and part-time students admitted to the University of Waterloo who demonstrate financial need.




Dr. B. Mabel Dunham 

  • female graduate with the highest overall average in six university entry courses at K-W area high schools.




Haviland Award
  • female graduate with the highest grade in university level chemistry course at K-W area high schools.

Hildegard Marsden 

  • enrolled at St. Louis Centre
  • who have completed four or more couses and are pursuing post-secondary education, with a preference for students who have earned an Ontario High School Diploma or equivalent.


Two awards awarded every year


Elliot T. Grasett 

  • undergraduate student who has completed his/her third year in the Honours History programme at the University of Waterloo.
  • attained the highest cumulative average in their class, has completed at least one Canadian history course and has been admitted to the fourth year in this programme.




George G. Blackburn 

  • a student who has completed, in good standing, the third year of the Honours History program and registered as a full-time student in the fourth year of this program at Wilfrid Laurier University.




Margaret Dale Philp 

  • TBA




Parry Michael Zehr 
Memorial Award

  • string player of promise with the K-W Symphony Youth Orchestra who wishes to further his/her musical studies.




Lenia Chamberlain 
Memorial Scholarship

  • graduate student enrolled in the Master of Arts or Doctoral-level program at Wilfrid Laurier University in the department of Religion and Culture.




Women of Waterloo County 

  • entering University of Waterloo or its affiliated Colleges/Universities
  • Region of Waterloo resident.


Funded by the proceeds of Women of Waterloo County, a book project researched and produced by CFUW-KW.  

Proudly She Marched/Jocelyn Cowan Scholarship  

  • full-time University of Waterloo undergraduate 3rd or 4th year of the Health Studies Program in the Faculty of Applied Health Sciences who intends to pursue a career in medicine. 


funded by the proceeds of Proudly She Marched: Training Canada's World WAR II Women in Waterloo County, a book and video project researched and produced by CFUW-KW, and by a bequest from the Cowan family.


James & Edith Davis Scholarship

  • Upper-year undergraduate students in political science or history programme in the Faculty of Arts at the University of Waterloo.
  • Minimum average of 80%, and have made a meaningful contribution through involvement in extracurricular activities in the school or community



Two awards awarded every year


Previous page: Meetings 1993-1994  Next page: CFUW KW Charitable Fund